New Times

The delay in posting was brought about a change in my employment. In the middle of January I was “laid off” at Summerwood Winery due to the economic downturn. This placed a serious burden on my visa status but luckily I was approached by a nearby winery to join their team.

First thoughts were, great, I don’t have to leave the US but then I needed to establish that the employment offer wasn’t just an interim measure.

I was contacted by Matthew Talbert, the new owner of the long established JanKris Winery in Templeton (Paso Robles). Matt purchased the property and is reviving one of the most visually stunning winery sites on the Central Coast. Was it what I wanted??……………HELL YEAH!!!

After 32 years in the wine industry I have gathered a huge amount of knowledge and experience which, until now, has been largely untapped during my almost two years working in the US. Matt is excited about the future of his company and is really pumped about learning as much as he can about production. A very successful international businessman, Matt bought the winery after retiring and is quickly learning that if winemaking was easy, everyone would do it!!

Matt’s energy and non-traditional approaches to wine marketing are already yielding great results…I too, am excited about being a part of the winery’s future. Keep an eye out for the new label.

JanKris (take a look at the new website www.jankriswinery.com ) has secured the naming rights for the Ben Hogan range of wines, a very limited release to celebrate the life of arguably the greatest golfer of all time.

On a more specific note, I have seen a parcel of Merlot from the vineyard adjacent to the winery made in 2008 and can’t wait to get my hands on it this harvest. I haven’t been too excited about Merlot as a variety on the Central Coast but this, I believe, will change all that.

More stories, more photos and lots more fun to come…………..

Kirk, by the way, has opened his own cafe in Morro Bay, called Frankie and Lolas front street cafe. If you down this way, call in and see him. I will try and get him to continue to contribute here.

Bye for now,

Chris Cameron

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “New Times

  1. Sorry to hear this. I got laid off from my job a week after you. We heard rumblings of this from Summerwood & wondered where you went off to. Glad you’re in Paso still as we love the region. You may remember my husband and I from some barrel tasting you did with us on my birthday last year (June) – we had a lot of fun and learned even more. If I ever get a job again we’ll come on out & see you at your new winery. In the mean time we’ll console ourselves with your Viognier.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

